Tuesday in Nebraska

Today was Kelli’s Valentine’s Day party.  I had been planning on skipping the party, but last night we got 4 inches of snow in Lincoln and the forecasted temperature here was 17 degrees with a windchill of 0 degrees (25 mph wind).  I thought about going out to the Arbor Day place in Nebraska City, but ended up skipping it and just spending the day with the family.  I did get to drive a little on the streets of Lincoln with the snow on it and did some slipping and sliding.  My Golf did not want to start this morning.

After the party, I did some snow-blowing.  I have never done that before.  I have done plenty of snow shoveling, but snow-blowing was a whole new adventure.  I had a hard time getting used to the output tube, I kept getting very cold snow on my already cold face.  I also had a tough time with all the noise of the machine.  It was fun to do all that work, but it probably would have been better to have just used a snow shovel.  After I finished the second driveway, I used a snow shovel to finish it off, and I also went out to the edges using the snow shovel.  I remember being taught that you want a little grass showing on the edge of the driveway, because that gives a place for the melting snow to get into the grass.  If you don’t leave that edge of grass, the melted snow will turn into ice on the driveway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Farm

Leave a Reply

