When can we move?

Our outlook really has changed here.  We used to think we needed for the adoption to be final before we could move to Nebraska.  But now it turns out that the only thing we now need to move to China is a job!  Based on my current leave balance, it looks like if I take no more leave for the rest of the year, I can go on ‘terminal leave’ on 1 September.  I’m not sure if there are any other benefits associated with a separation, such as time for moving household goods back to my home of record.  I still wanted to take some time off, though, in May or June to inspect our newly-acquired residence, so I probably won’t be going on terminal leave quite so soon.  Plus Caleb constantly asks me to take days off, right now he is pushing for me to take his birthday off.

So now we wait for word back from either Nemaha County or USCIS (as I think those are my best prospects).

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoption, Family & Friends, Work

Leave a Reply

