Whizbang projects

Yesterday I got really antsy, I think because I was bored.  I really want a project to work on, and all this waiting is killing me.  We will be trying to make payments on the farmhouse so that we can pay down the mortgage, so I know I shouldn’t spend money.  But last night I really wanted to start a project.  I really considered starting work on a whizbang chicken scalder.  I perused the book again, but began to realize that this was a $1000+ project.  One of the first pieces I need is a LP gas water heater.  I could use an older one, but finding one of the right size might be a challenge.  I guess I better try, though.  The best alternative to a used water heater is one I found on e-bay for $249, but it would also cost $85 to ship!  The other expensive item is a geared motor that will cost close to $300!  Ugh!  I think I will stick with just trying to finish off the whizbang chicken plucker with a handle, wheels, and an automatic watering system.

5 Comments

Filed under Farm Projects, Whizbang

5 responses to “Whizbang projects

  1. Hello Don,

    I wanted to let you know I just saw your comment on our blog logcabinhomestead. I replied to your comment but, I wanted to drop by your site and offer you a word of encouragement.

    I’m always excited to see people stepping out in faith. It was the best thing me and my family ever did. I’ll be praying for you and your family as you are preparing to step out into this new adventure.

    I’ll be dropping by here from time to time to see how things are going for you.

    God Bless,
    Russ

    PS
    Herrick Kimball does a great how to book doesn’t he? I have both of his books telling how to make the plucker and scalder. I haven’t gotten a chance to build them yet but, I hope to soon.

  2. NF

    Hey Don,
    Russ beat me to the punch, so I figured I’d better get over here and say howdy! I don’t get around to much in blogdom but your site caught my eye a while back. Looks like your putting together a good one!
    I’ll be around!

    Tom

  3. Thank you, Tom & Russ. We are looking forward to continuing down the path that God will lead us on. We are continually amazed and surprised by the good things He does for us.

  4. Hi Don,

    I found my way here via Russ Nellis’s blog. I’d like to offer a word of advice on the Whizbang Scalder & Plucker….. Build the plucker first.

    The scalder is a luxury–really nice if you have a lot of chickens to process, but not nearly as necessary as the plucker. You can scald pretty easily with a hot pot of water over a propane burner, as explained in the back of the plucker book.

    Best wishes,

    herrick Kimball

  5. Thank you Herrick! I have built the plucker already. I will post about it soon. I am working on some finishing touches, but it is fully operational now. I was thinking about building the scalder while we wait to make our move up North — it would be a project that is at least somewhat agrarian in nature. Thanks again for dropping by,

    Don

Leave a Reply

