Separation Papers & Continuing Job Search

The big day has finally come.  Today I should be submitting my separation papers.  The military is such an anomaly.  In order to separate, I have to give 6 months’ notice!  I will be giving notice today (or tomorrow) that I want 25 November to be my last day of active-duty, but that I will accept a reserve commission.  I am also estimating that my terminal leave will start on 14 September.  Terminal leave will allow me to leave the local area;  it is the use of all the vacation time I have saved up but not used.

This is another big step toward our goal of heading out to the farm.  It is done in the midst of the Air Force wanting me to accept an assignment to Washington, DC.

On the job search front, I have heard of a new job opening at Offutt AFB that sounds almost perfect.  They are looking for a lawyer to work contract issues on a part-time basis.  I would love to work at Offutt 2-3 days a week and still make enough money to support my family and pay my mortgage.  It wouldn’t be extravagant living, but that isn’t what I am after.  I am after the ability to spend as much time at home with my family as I can.  The only thing that bothers me about the Offutt job is that I would have to do my reserve duty somewhere else — either McConnell AFB in Wichita, KS, or Whiteman AFB in Knob Noster, MO.  I think I would prefer Whiteman, but we will have to wait and see.

Last week I submitted an application for an Assistant US Trustee position in Omaha, and I am still waiting for an interview for the Deputy County Attorney position in Auburn.  I know I was referred for a non-lawyer position in Lincoln with the US CIS, but I haven’t heard anything on that job and have seen that they have re-advertised for that position.

Leave a comment

Filed under Work

Leave a Reply

