A Conversation with Chris

Last night I had a conversation with a good friend and brother, Chris.  Chris is former Air Force and I feel ashamed when I complain about how long things take and remember what he went through.

As those who pay attention know, I have been rather frustrated lately with the wait.  Progress is being made, but I want to see the future so I can be comfortable with it.  I know, however, that God holds my future and that He will protect me and provide for me.  I was especially frustrated as we entered this month and I was offered a job within the Air Force as a labor law attorney in Washington, DC.  I couldn’t understand why we were being offered this job when I felt clearly that God approved of our move to Nebraska and I felt that God had clearly opened doors for us to move to Nebraska.

Chris used to be a F-16 fighter pilot, which involved a 10-year commitment to the Air Force, but he felt God calling him away from the Air Force after just 3 years.  He waited for 7 years for God to show him where he was going and for God to release him from his obligation to Uncle Sam.  During this time, Chris did exceptionally well in his career path, which tempted him to stay in the Air Force, even though he knew that God was calling him away from the Air Force.

Chris shared the following scripture with me from Hebrews 11:24-27:  “By faith Moses, when he had grown up, refused to be known as the son of Pharaoh’s daughter.  He chose to be mistreated along with the people of God rather than to enjoy the pleasures of sin for a short time.  He regarded disgrace for the sake of Christ as of greater value than the treasures of Egypt, because he was looking ahead to his reward.  By faith he left Egypt, not fearing the king’s anger;  he persevered because he saw him who is invisible.”  Chris had been led to this passage when he was struggling with his own decision to follow God’s calling and leave the Air Force.  Chris’ detachment from the Air Force is greater than mine because Chris believes that he should have no active involvement in the government.  So when Chris left the Air Force, he totally severed all ties.

But can you see the application of this passage to my life today?  It practically screams out to me.  I do not need to be known as an officer of the United States Air Force — I should be known as a son of God.  I should not be giving my life to serve the United States of America — I should be giving my life to serve God.  Such stances will not make me respected among the people of this world, but it will reap me much greater rewards.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Farm, Work

Leave a Reply

