Updates on everything

So much has changed in the last week that I feel I can only post in bullet format.  I’m sorry for how this may look, but I hope you can forgive me. 

 

Moving:

  • Today the ABF pup was picked up and is starting its long trek from Litchfield Park, Arizona, to Sterling, Nebraska. 
  • We packed the ABF pup from Saturday through Monday.  On Saturday we had lots of help and got 90% of the trailer loaded.  On Sunday and Monday I worked alone and finally finished the trailer.  Where did all that stuff come from?
  • We have moved out of our rental house and are now living in temporary lodging on base.
  • We leave Arizona on Friday.  There will be a going-away lunch at 1200 and the van will be loaded in the parking lot.  Immediately after the lunch, we will run down to the van, pile in, and start driving, aiming to reach Gallup, New Mexico.  Saturday we will drive on to Guymon, Oklahoma.  And Sunday we will finish the drive, possibly taking a slight side trip to visit family in Lincoln on our way in.
  • We have ordered chickens and expect them to be delivered during the week of 24 September.
  • I still need to set up a personal email account.  I have always used my work email account, but I think it is time I set up a personal account to keep in touch with folks.

Job Search:

  • When I visited the farm Labor Day weekend, I found a letter addressed to me telling me that I had a writing assessment with Citizenship and Immigration Services (CIS) in Lincoln!  The problem was that my test date was for the week before. 
  • I called CIS and asked if I could take the test in Phoenix or if I could wait until the week of 17 September to take the test.  Thankfully, they agreed to allow me to take the test in Phoenix on 11 September 2007!
  • I had an interview the first week of September with the Tecumseh State Corrections Institution.  The interview was a structured interview with pre-written questions that were graded by a panel of interviewers.  I felt like I bombed the interview.  Most of the questions were pretty far outside what I normally experience, and they left me feeling like I didn’t know what I was talking about.
  • Last Friday, I was offered a job as a Unit Case Worker at the prison in Tecumseh.  One of the things I like most about the job is that it is very close to home, only about a 10-mile drive.  After receiving the offer, I contacted my friend who is a warden and we set up some time to discuss Monday morning.
  • After talking with my friend Monday morning, I accepted the job offer with the prison in Tecumseh. 
  • Today, I drove into downtown Phoenix and took the writing assessment for the CIS job.  I told the kids we will just wait and see what God’s will is – will he extend a job offer from CIS?  And, if so, how good will the job offer be?  Hopefully, it will be clear to us what God’s will for us is.
  • I have an appointment next Monday at the Johnson County Medical Center for my physical exam.
  • I am scheduled to start the Nebraska Corrections Training Program (a 5-week program) the following Monday, 24 September.

Adoption:

  • There is still very little movement on this front.  Eighteen months ago, we were approved by CIS to immigrate two children from China.  That was about to expire, so a few weeks ago we submitted a renewal application, and last week we went to CIS in Phoenix to update our fingerprints.  The story about our experiences there is perhaps a story for another day.

Pregnancy:

  • Only two months left until our due date!  Abigail Ruth is growing quickly and is a strong little girl!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoption, Baby, Moving, Work

Leave a Reply

