I’m a Farmer Now

I have been having a hard time telling folks around here that we own a farm, because they invariably ask what my crop is.  So I had taken to telling folks that I am a farmer without a crop and with no livestock.  Well, all that change about a week-and-a-half ago.  On a Thursday morning, my wife and kids went down to the post office and picked up our very first livestock:  78 chicks.  We ordered 25 brown-egg layers, 25 rainbow-egg layers, and 25 heavy breed males from Murray McMurray and they have finally arrived.  Initially we put them all in a 2×6 foot trough, but they quickly outgrew that and are now living in two troughs.

trough

They are growing quickly and are starting to stink up my basement. Following are two pictures of them from that first day:

102_1266.JPG

102_1272.JPG

I will try to post some two-week-old shots later this week.

So the next project for the chickens is to get them out of my house and into their own house.  One of the quaint old structures on our place, they I never figured I would use, is a chicken coop, which came complete with busted out old windows and windows that had been boarded up.  Most recently, the denizens of our coop were a pride of cats that seems to have largely disappeared.  As I said, the chicks have got to move out of my house and into their own house.  More to follow on this one:

normands-05.jpg

102_1028.JPG

1 Comment

Filed under Chickens, Farm, Farm Projects

One response to “I’m a Farmer Now

  1. Troy

    I can’t wait till the day when I can call myself a farmer. Just waiting on God, we all know how long that can take sometimes, but he’s always on
    time.

Leave a Reply

