Garage Construction, part 3

Still no baby.

Garage construction has been creeping along. I don’t think I realized how proportionately small the work to put up the skeleton of the garage was, compared to the actual completing of the job. It took far longer than I expected to get the garage sheeted. And I thought rolling out the roofing felt would fly by, but it also took longer than one day (I can only work about 3-4 hours in a day due to work). I am now, though, to the point of nailing on shingles and I see that there is a possibility of snow on Wednesday. Looks like I won’t be beating the weather.

dsc_0027.jpg

Above is a photo from our day of putting up the trusses, taken by my neighbor, Robert Becker, the photographer for the Lincoln newspaper.

dsc_0039.jpg

Another photo of putting up trusses by the same famous photographer.

With abundant help from Hannah & Lizzie, Caleb & Meagan, and Terry, we have completed 90% of the sheeting on the garage, have attached the fascia and rake, have attached the drip edges and have rolled out the felt paper on the roof. Tonight I nearly completed the first three rows of shingles. Following is a picture of the front of the garage from about a week ago:

102_1361.jpg

And a photo of Terry, Daniel, & I discussing attaching the fascia:

102_1359.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Farm Projects, Homebuilding

Leave a Reply

